Professional Experience was a great experience.

Ive just completed 3 weeks of professional experience in a year 2 classroom.  At first I was so nervous that I would need to plan and teach for several hours each day and work up to teaching for full days.  By the third week I was very confident and managed the classroom behavior and time quite well.  The students responded to me in a positive manner and I was able to find what behavior management strategies I felt comfortable using and what did and didn’t work.  I found that the right language is especially useful in maintaining student engagement in tasks.  I often had to research language used so that I would not confuse the students.  I also found I learnt a lot!!! I hope my students participate in class better than I obviously did at that age.

Leave a comment